Fallow Times

Let me direct your attention to a significant post over at Mystical Bewilderment on the Spiritual Turnpike, called Fallow Isn’t Just About Fields and Dreams. She discusses the periods we all go through when we are disconnected from our gods and spirits – which she has aptly named Fallow Times – why it happens, and what to do about it. This is something everyone on a spiritual path will encounter – some more often than others perhaps – even those of us who have built strong and long-term relationships and are deeply engaged with our practice. But it can be so hard to talk about – there is doubt, and shame, and reluctance to even face it at all. But facing it is exactly what will eventually bring you closer to Them – working through the roughest times will teach you more than all the pretty festive days and cool magic you do.

I’d also like to add something to her list of possible reasons one might enter Fallow Times:

  1. Simply put, it’s the mundane overpowering the spiritual.
  2. The gods are busy.
  3. We want it so badly, we block ourselves.
  4. It’s a test.
  5. There’s a problem.

I think I’ve encountered every single one of these at one point or another. But I’ve also noticed another source, which I doubt is wholly peculiar to me, and it’s something implied directly by the term “fallow.” Namely that after certain significant changes or events one goes through spiritually, it may be a natural part of the cycle to then experience a fallow period in reaction – because you’ve expended all your mojo, and/or because you need time to adjust to a new way of being. My spiritual life can be pretty…. dramatic, shall we say, and often after yet another big shake-up or challenge or oath or revelation, I will find myself temporarily removed to some degree from the gods or spirits involved in the event. But as long as I do what’s needed – rest, often, and also introspective work to make sure I understand what the next steps should be and what They have shown to me – and keep up with my practices, the connection will return… usually even stronger than it was before.

~ by Dver on March 21, 2012.

9 Responses to “Fallow Times”

  1. Funny, I have a post for pagan blog project on pretty much this exact thing. And my frustration at not knowing my way out of it. I should publish that soon, so thank you for the link.

  2. Thank you for this. A friend and I who work closely, both separately and together, with the same goddess, seem to be experiencing this. Your post and the link to Mystical Bewilderment is quite comforting and informative. We think we know what the issue is, but perhaps there is more to it. There certainly is a feeling of shame, bewilderment and doubt – exactly as you discuss. What a timely post for us. Obviously we are not abandoned, after all. Too coincidental that after discussing it over the weekend, your post is in my mail box. Again, many thanks.

  3. Thank you!

    I haven’t experienced that type of fallow time (yet). Is it a little weird that I hope to have an experience like that one day?

  4. Thank you for this. It’s very timely and interesting. I wouldn’t say I entirely agree with all of it but that’s not really the point is it? There are various reasons why I’ve been left fallow for some time, some of which you know. I find it fascinating however that I’ve just begun to cultivate my field, after it has been left fallow for more than 10 years (not by me I hasten to add). The soil is rich, fertile and easy to work. The seedlings are beginning to show. I sense I’m like one of those seedlings. When we’ve been hurled through a period of chaotic unrest that fallow time is needed, but after that we need to be gentle with ourselves, tend the early growth, protect it and don’t expect it to be as robust as we might have been in the past, and encourage nature to do its work, and we can then flourish with it.

  5. I have also experienced a fallow period, just recently, due to severe changes in my life many of those reasons you list. Gladly I’ve worked through it, and with a much deeper connection than before.

  6. [...] off, Dver talks about fallow times, when our connection to spirituality weakens. I tend to get these after expending a lot of energy, [...]

  7. [...] Un article de Dver qui concentre une réflexion amorcée par d’autres : pourquoi est-on parfait soudain déconnecté des dieux et des esprits ? qu’est-ce que cela veut dire ? J’ai souligné les parties centrales qui je pense peuvent-être comprises sans trop de difficultés. [...]

  8. [...] Fallow Times at A Forest Door. [...]

  9. […] si l’on se demande si l’on est normal (on parle souvent de "déconnexion"). Dver l’a expliqué ici il y a longtemps, je crois que c’est le premier article que j’avais trouvé sur ce […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 509 other followers