Stone Circles

We saw two stone circles while in England, in very different contexts. We went back and forth on this one a bit during the planning process, but decided we really ought to see Stonehenge – even though it’s roped off now. I won’t show a million photos since you’ve all seen it before, but it was pretty impressive (although a bit smaller in diameter than I expected), and we had good weather (actually we were lucky in that regard for the whole trip) so here are a few nice ones:

IMG_1249 IMG_1235 IMG_1243 IMG_1228

But for me, the more powerful experience was a set of much smaller, more modest stone circles we found near Bodmin Moor in Cornwall, called The Hurlers. It was a fiercely windy day on the moor, but we had it all to ourselves for a brief time (other than the grazing cows), and we could get much closer and more personal with the stones.

IMG_0966 IMG_0968 IMG_0965 IMG_0957 IMG_0961

 

There is definitely energy in this place, and deep, deep history, and stunning, solitary beauty.

~ by Dver on May 8, 2013.

6 Responses to “Stone Circles”

  1. That is awesome, and those photos of the Hurlers make me want to go there at once. When I was in England, I saw Stonehenge, Avebury, and Glastonbury, which was all the traveling I did outside of London. I hope to return some day and see more of the country.

    • There’s so much to see! We restricted ourselves to the southwest but still missed tons I would have liked to see. I’d very much like to go back and just spend a concentrated amount of time in the Dartmoor area, exploring the moors.

  2. Reminds me of when I went to see Stonehenge when I was 17. I was disappointed to not feel anything, no energy, no mystical feelings, nothing. As though the henge looks more impressive than it actually is. I’m still glad I went, even if there was a constant drizzle of rain. I wonder if this year’s trip to Avebury will yield any results or if I just need to have more patience.

    • I didn’t feel anything mystical there either. But, it’s hard to tell how much of it was the site itself, and how much was the invasive presence of all the other tourists (most of whom were more engaged with their little devices narrating stuff in their ears than with the direct presence of the stones themselves). I felt much more when we could get up close and have some privacy with the other stones.

  3. One of the best parts about being a member of the Oxford Arthurian Society was that we were classified as an “academic group,” and therefore were allowed to get up close to the stones at Stonehenge when we went. We were told “just don’t touch them!” but of course, we all did. As for there being much mystical energy there and such: it was hard to focus on it, but I don’t feel it was especially rich in such numinousness; however, the feeling of the impact of history on it was noteworthy. There is a difference, I think…

    • Yes, I know what you mean – a lot of things I saw in England had a certain weight to them just because of their overwhelming history (so many pubs that had been around for hundreds of years!), beyond any other significance.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 527 other followers