The Power of Story

Dver:

Just sharing a recent post from my Girls Underground blog about movies which illustrate the power of Story. If any of you have suggestions for additions to this list, I’d love to hear them.

Originally posted on Girls Underground:

For over a decade now, I have traced the Girls Underground archetype as it appears again and again in literature, film, television, fairytales, comic books, art and mythology. This has revealed to me not only the power of this particular story, but the power of Story in general. This is not just a metaphor – I believe Story shapes reality itself. Not surprisingly, some of my favorite movies illustrate the sacred role of Story, and I have recently noted this trend and decided to share a brief list here with you all. If you know a movie that should be added to this list, please let me know in the comments.

labyrinth

Labyrinth- the film that started the idea for Girls Underground begins with Sarah reading from a book (probably a play) called Labyrinth, the details of which (down to the dialogue) she then enacts when the real Goblin King…

View original 317 more words

~ by Dver on January 8, 2014.

4 Responses to “The Power of Story”

  1. I love most of those movies. :-) haven’t seen some, but I will now.

    I have a story I am writing, finally, after having it in my head for twenty years. The character (a demigod) has a thousand lifetimes and retains her memories throughout each one. She spends time in limbo between each life, and occasionally breaks the fourth wall while she is there. She is writing a novel, and gets the idea that maybe someone is writing her, as well. Not quite the same as these movies, but I have her living in so many different times and places that I can’t really justify bringing her “here” as well – except when she sticks her head through the wall to talk to the author or pulls down the page to speak to the would-be fanfic writers :-)

  2. Reblogged this on Garden of the Olympians and commented:
    I love this post. I love these movies, and this concept. Words have power.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 504 other followers