Answer: Dealing with repercussions

ginandjack asks:

“How do you deal with the physical and emotional repercussions after particularly harrowing trance/communion/ritual/travel?”

One of the biggest lessons I’ve had to learn and incorporate is that when stuff gets intense, scary, or overwhelming, I am not allowed to slam the door shut. That used to be my automatic reaction – I would close myself off to Them, to the Other, because it was too much. I didn’t mean to do it, it just happened. Sometimes only for a brief time afterwards, but sometimes that door got stuck and I had a hard time prying it open again. While understandable, that really wasn’t an acceptable attitude for someone whose entire purpose is to be a conduit between the worlds.

Over time, I began to practice a different approach – sort of stepping back a couple paces from that opening, but not shutting it down. Having a lighter touch with it, I guess. Trusting more in my gods and spirits to have my back even when I remained vulnerable (which They really do – due to the nature of my Work, I don’t use most of the grounding, shielding, and warding techniques common to other practitioners, almost solely relying on Them to protect me).

Instead of immediately trying to drown out the Spooky with the most mundane things I could find – television, junk food, etc. – which always just left me feeling agitated anyway, I now ease back into the material world more gently, and feed my body and spirit (both literally and metaphorically) with things that will strengthen me and remind me of who I am. I often take a “hair of the dog” approach and attempt to smooth my landing with gentle entheogens (even a cigarette can function for this purpose). I usually eat something, but make sure it’s real food. If I can’t handle reading or even thinking I will put on a movie, something I’ve seen a million times before and that re-enforces my worldview in some way, while not being too overtly connected to anything I’ve been doing. If I can, I will sleep – but the oracles, for instance, which are probably the most frequent times I go far enough to freak out a little, also have the odd effect of making me wired and tired at the same time, and I’m usually up half the night. I should also add that I have often been helped immensely by Sannion, who knows by now how to handle me in the throes of post-ritual crazies.

And then, after a day or two of rest, I make sure to do something, even a small bit of ritual or communion, to ensure the door is still open and prove to myself that I can face all the potential madness again.

~ by Dver on April 5, 2013.

5 Responses to “Answer: Dealing with repercussions”

  1. I never really considered my sometimes violent reactions to interactions with the Powers as slamming the door shut, but that totally makes sense and this TOTALLY fits something my God has been trying to drive the point home on–that I need to not slam the door shut and have to find a way to manage without doing that. Thank you.

  2. The slow-burn approach is really smart. I have a tendency to try to sleep away post-trance/ritual mania/stress/jitteryness, and it really hasn’t been working for me. I usually wake up, assuming I didn’t have awful dreams/sleep, agitated and depressed. At least I’m starting to recognize how that “shift” isn’t working for me. If I work myself to complete exhaustion, (ritual dance or sex) then it is less severe.

    I also do a brief communal ritual a few days later, usually in thanks, but sometimes as a “check-in”. This has given me a chance to reflect on parts of my practice I don’t normally pay any mind.Thank you very much for sharing.

  3. I’ve fallen into the “tune everything out,” both ways, unfortunately — and that is not a way to be. Thanks for this post. I appreciate the ideas to help with this issue.

  4. I haven’t been permitted to take part in this question and answer session much as I would love to (Questions?! By all the Gods that are, or were, or ever will be I’ve got a million of them!!) Apparently the geis that has been offered me is to be still and quiet and to listen. How sweet, then, it is to me that my listening and the stilling of my fingers on my keyboard are rewarded with some of the answers I seek given me through you. How wise to place before me not what I would have asked but what I needed to hear. To express my gratitude is not prohibited, however, and I share that sentiment with you now for being the conduit that allows me to hear. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

