Orphic Hymn for Dionysos

So part of our Filled with Frenzy ritual at Many Gods West was a series of devotional prayers before the shrine. I decided to do the Orphic Hymn #30 for Dionysos, in ancient Greek (which I had fortunately already memorized nine years ago for a Pantheacon ritual and still had knocking around in my brain). But then I got a strong feeling it should be sung, not simply recited. We know that the ancient hymns were sung originally, although we don’t really know how they sounded, if there were set melodies, etc. I basically just played with this until it found its own rhythm and notes – not quite a static melody, and not quite formless either, it seemed to fit.

Someone asked if I would be recording this. We did not make any recordings of the ritual (that’s against our entire approach) but I decided it might be interesting to others to hear what this sounds like, so I recorded myself singing it. Warning: the quality is that of my laptop’s built-in microphone, so not great. Also, I make no pretenses at perfect ancient Greek pronunciation, or having a good voice. This was an offering to my god, not a performance. It had more power during the ritual itself, obviously, but this might still be useful as a record and perhaps inspire others to do the same.

~ by Dver on August 12, 2015.

4 Responses to “Orphic Hymn for Dionysos”

  1. I think it was beautiful personally. It reminds me of the magical hymns to Yahweh done in certain Western Magics. I do a blessing with the Gods alongside Yahweh often singing it as well. Though my voice is deep as Hell. I sound like a Cuban Darth Vader.

    Your voice is kinda cute too.

  2. It’s really neat to hear the Ancient Greek. Your voice sounds quite strong and suited to the Hymn. Blessings.

  3. Thanks for sharing this. I can imagine it would be really powerful with a group chanting it in a ritual situation. I think going back to the ancient Greek helps with the magic.

  4. […] and around the space (Agreus, Lusios / Bromios, Iakkhos / Zagreus, Manikos / IO DIONYSOS!), and the Orphic Hymn to Dionysos being sung by Dver (seriously, GO LISTEN TO IT if you haven’t heard it before!). Ariadne was also honored […]

Leave a Reply

