The Future (And A Request)

As 2017 begins, I find that I’ve come to a place in my life where I think I’ve said most of the useful things I could say regarding spirit-work and devotional polytheism (at least, to a general audience), and it feels like the right time to put this blog on an indefinite hiatus.

My plan is to collect the best of what I’ve written since publishing Dwelling on the Threshold and release a second book of my essays (hopefully before spring), and then remove many of the old posts from this blog – directing those who wish to read my work to my books instead. A Forest Door will remain, however, as a repository for some of my more important and popular posts, and as a way to keep offering my cartomancy services and any other small things that might come up. So I may make brief announcements here or there, and please do keep subscribed if you want to receive those. As always, my various specific projects and other blogs can be found at BirdSpiritLand.com.

But, before I go – I thought it might be interesting to see if there were any questions or topics any of you had that might spark a few final posts, anything I might have not covered over the last 6 or 7 years or that I could expand upon. So please, comment to this post with any suggestions, questions, etc. on Hellenic polytheism, polytheism or animism in general, spirit-work or spirit relationships, mysticism, trancework, oracles/divination, localizing practice, Dionysos, entheogens, animal bones, liminal magic, or anything else in my wheelhouse. I can’t promise I’ll write on your topic, but I’ll consider all suggestions.

Thank you all so much for reading A Forest Door, especially those of you who have been with me from the beginning (and even before, on Yahoo lists and Livejournal!), and to those who have purchased my books and services and helped support me in my work. I hope my writings have been helpful to you.

~ by Dver on January 3, 2017.

16 Responses to “The Future (And A Request)”

  1. Thank you for your very informative insights. Do you have a Patreon account?

    • No, as I don’t really produce content in a regular fashion that I can give in exchange. If folks would like to support my Work, I’d suggest buying my books, patronizing my Etsy shops, using my book design services, or paying for a cartomancy session. Thanks for asking though!

  2. Thank you so much for all of your blog posts! One of the things that I would love to hear more from you, if possible, is any advice you have to give for folks who may be new or newish to devotional polytheism. Especially for folks who have been on the Pagan path for some time and suddenly find themselves in direct Deity contact. Your writing has been very helpful in this regard. It can be a bit lonely as the wider Pagan community seems less and less relevant/helpful.

  3. I would miss the blog, but at the same time I would happiy buy another collection of essays. DWELLING ON THE THRESHOLD has become one of the books that never leaves my bedside table.

    • That’s awesome to hear! Especially as one of your books (Sacred Mask, Sacred Dance) has been on my bookshelf since my very beginnings in paganism. I should have the new collection of essays out in a month or so.

  4. I’ve enjoyed your blog very much. I’m reading Kharis right now and am enjoying it too! 🙂

    I had some divination done, and Hermes wants me to go to a cemetery and leave flowers for an unattended grave and leave Him an offering. I remember that you posted about your experiences going to cemeteries and leaving offerings for Hermes. Will you still have those posts up on your blog? I would like to know the proper protocal for approaching the Dead and Hermes in cemeteries.

    • Sorry but I deleted those posts on visiting cemeteries awhile back. I’m not sure that there is any “proper protocol” in this case as far as tradition is concerned. IIRC, I just took a series of four offerings to each cemetery (including stones to build a mini-herm), and walked around until I found a place that felt right in which to leave them. I think an old-fashioned stone-pile herm is a pretty appropriate offering in that it can be connected to gravestones. One might also leave offerings at the gate, and/or at the first (chronologically) grave in the cemetery, assuming that spirit is the guardian for the whole.

  5. Well, I don’t have any requests however I will definitely be looking forward to anything you put out! I have ‘Kharis’ and ‘Dwelling on the Threshold’, love them both. You’ve posted so much awesome writing over the years, I’m glad that some of it has found its way into print so folks can continue reading. Blessings.

    • Thank you! I am a strong believer in the printed word, and hope that having my work in print will ensure (to whatever degree we can be sure of anything) that it survives even if the digital world collapses.

      • Yes! As am I which is why all of the books I own are printed ones. One of my lines of reasoning is that, even if I lose power, I can still read my printed book by sun or candle light. In fact, I lived in Florida for about three years (over a decade ago) and the longest we had been without power was about two weeks due to a pretty strong hurricane. To make a not-so-long story shorter, I was glad I was able to read my books during the day and even at night by the light of several candles. Also, books are books. They must be printed! Blessings.

  6. I will definitely miss this blog! I know way back when you had a pic of your prayer beads–would you mind discussing how you work with them? I really love prayer beads as a part of my own practice.

    • I don’t know if I have enough to say on that topic for a whole post, but I’ll answer that here. My prayer beads are – unlike many pagans’ – not based on a rosary concept but instead a collection of individual, all-different beads, each one representing a god or spirit (or group of spirits) in my “personal pantheon”. I usually work with them while walking (that has just developed naturally), often on the way to work. I will take them out and go through them in order, holding each bead in succession as I take a moment to connect with the god or spirit represented. Sometimes I make formal prayers/petitions/gratitude etc., sometimes I just speak extemporaneously, and sometimes I even play little games, like thinking of an associated animal for each god/spirit, or stating when my next offering or ritual will be for them. I find that having the beads helps ensure that I am always acknowledging all of my pantheon on a regular basis.

  7. I will very much miss the blog, as it’s one of only two I follow on this subject. The books are great, but there’s something about knowing the author is out there, and hearing from them occasionally, that makes a difference. Not that I ever update my own blog… lol. But I don’t have the following you do. I wish you all the best!

    • Thank you – yes I know what you mean, but unfortunately there often comes a time when one’s energies have to be directed elsewhere. However, I will still be “out there” and will occasionally post just to update everyone on my projects.

Leave a Reply

