A quarter century with Hermes

Recently, while going through my old spiritual journals to find something, I discovered that today marks the 25th anniversary of Hermes coming into my life. This happened relatively suddenly compared to others – I was in need of some guidance in my burgeoning magical studies, He seemed the most appropriate one to petition, so I used the very same ancient marketplace oracle I mentioned in my New Year post and asked Him if He would be willing to help, and got a definitive yes. I didn’t realize at the time, of course, that He would come to be such a major force in my life, but I am so glad that it worked out that way! He was the first god I developed a significant relationship with outside of Dionysos, and that relationship has lasted all this time, and has actually been remarkably consistent compared to most of my others.

I appeal to Hermes for assistance with matters of luck, money, business, writing, language, travel, and magic, including divination and omens especially. I have His primary shrine just inside my front door, and I also keep a herm outside by the front steps, a token representing Him in my car, and another image next to my bed (for Hermes’ wand can bring sleep and dreams as well as lead the souls of the dead). I say a very short prayer to Him every time I leave my property, and a thanks when I return safely. I keep a couple small festivals for Him (Propulaia in the fall, Eriounia at the new year, and of course the final day of Anthesteria), but He does have a way of sneaking into other festivals, which is why Sannion and I developed the epithet heortokleptos for Him. As mentioned previously, I am working on learning more of His ancient epithets by heart so I can use them appropriately in prayer.

My most frequent offerings to Him are beer, whiskey, lamb, stones, and old or foreign coins. A couple years ago I released the devotional coins for Hermes, and they have surpassed all my expectations in their popularity – I just ordered my fourth batch of 100 coins, and also paid to keep the mold forever so I can continue to produce them. I am so happy thinking that I have, in some small way, helped support His worship among other devotees.

This year my kledon had to do with what/how I communicate with other polytheists (primarily this blog, but also books and even direct personal correspondence) and I am excited to put more effort into that. I realized that, very stupidly, I had not really been considering this work as falling under the auspices of Hermes but of course it absolutely does, so I’m going to try to connect that more in my practice.

It’s been an adjustment, moving out to a more rural area, as I’ve spent a long time associating Hermes with my constant urban walking (and the many possibilities for receiving interesting kledones and other omens on such walks, as well as leaving glamourbombs and messages for strangers). For awhile after landing here, the only place I felt Him strongly in the landscape was the cemetery at the end of my road, which I can walk to – I’ve long associated Him with cemeteries due to His psychopomp role and once even spent a year visiting all the cemeteries in Eugene and doing ritual for Him there. But recently a new trail opened up nearby that felt immediately connected to Him, and is close enough for frequent walks, so I’m looking forward to deepening that association over time.

Like all my gods and spirits I have an extensive playlist of songs assembled for Hermes. Some of them are personal and probably not relevant to anyone else, but I’ve created a shorter Youtube playlist to share with you all here. Always interested in hearing recommendations for other songs you associate with Him.

I’ll finish here with a painting I have long displayed in honor of Hermes, by the artist David Delamare (who I just learned, upon looking up the link for this, passed away several years ago), called “Betwixt & Between”:

Hail to Hermes, always close to my heart.

~ by Dver on January 4, 2024.

2 Responses to “A quarter century with Hermes”

  1. Love Him so.

  2. May you have many more years with Him!

Leave a comment