Spring renewal

Now that the ground is clear (at least on one half of my property, the other half still being somewhat of a pond due to living in a swamp-adjacent low area), I have been hard at work preparing for the growing season, and continuing my ongoing project of responding to the inherent spirit of the land in various artistic, spiritual and practical ways.

Yesterday I put out a little locally-made spirit-house (or some might say birdhouse) on the back porch:

And created a new base for a portable fire bowl, out of pavers I was gifted:

I deconstructed my original fire pit, which I had made with some old concrete blocks I’d found lying around the yard when I moved in. I used a few of the blocks to create a little pedestal where I will place a dish to use as a birdbath soon, but many of them had broken into various pieces. As I was moving those off to the side, I noticed that one kind of looked like a bull’s head. Then I got an idea…

These are modeled on the bucrania called “horns of consecration” at the temple of Knossos (see below photo). Though bucrania are a recurring decorative theme going all the way back to Çatalhöyük.

It immediately felt like the right thing to place there. That platform will likely be a deer feeding station in winter (when I’ll remove the “horns” so that they won’t break further during the freeze/thaw cycle) but in the summer it can be a sort of forecourt to the temenos of Dionysos that lies within the swamp behind it.

As I collapsed in the evening, exhausted from all the work I’d done, I said to the land something along the lines of I hope these things I am doing and making please you and properly honor you. I am very careful, after all, to work with the existing character of this place and not try to impose ill-fitting ideas on it. I’m mostly keeping it wild and simple.

Anyway, that night I feel I got a nice confirmation, as I was delighted to witness something I had long thought might happen someday – when two different animal species arrived to scavenge for treats at the same time. I was watching an enormous raccoon munching away when he suddenly looked apprehensively down the driveway and I saw a petite gray fox come into view. They stared each other down for awhile, the raccoon making some intimidating movements towards the fox, the fox looking a bit nervous but ducking around him to steal food anyway before eventually running off, after which the raccoon finished eating everything in sight. It was fascinating to observe, and it felt like a gift.

I am very much looking forward to spending more time outside enjoying the land now that I don’t have to don several layers of gear just to get around through the snow! Watching the swamp come back to life – tall blue-green grasses emerging, crickets and frogs singing all night, small points of red dotting the trees where maple leaves are budding – is quickly making this my second favorite season here (after autumn, of course, which is always the best wherever I’ve lived). Having survived another winter just makes the joy of spring even more intense and personal.

~ by Dver on April 18, 2024.

9 Responses to “Spring renewal”

  1. I recently made up my own type of spirit house (Faerie House) for my balcony

    The Faerie House

    Not “made” it’s more like moving pieces that have different functions. I did it based on some research I have been doing into whether or not the spirits require our help. From an article from British Faeries called “Do Faeries feel the cold?”

    • I read the British Faeries blog too! I really like the idea of making a special place for spirits to shelter from storms. I may have to think about doing that next winter here.

      • It’s one of my favorite blogs. And the accounts and research are awesome. It was the Tuatha Dé Danann who were having me make these shelters for the indigenous land spirits here in Florida. They said I had to be a gracious guest.

  2. The raccoons of Hermes have a face-off with the foxes of Dionysos! ;) (Not that They’d actually fight with each other…but still!)

    • Haha! I hadn’t thought of it that way – I always associate raccoons with Hermes but foxes have a different primary significance for me personally – but it’s a great mental image!

  3. Wow I love the way your concrete blocks happened to look like the horns of consecration and your sighting of the racoon and fox sounds like a sure sign that your land approves.

  4. Oh, you make me want to run around madly and dance and shout! What wonderful spring offerings!

  5. hello! My name is Luke/Faye and I’m agender and I have autism. I’ve had some spiritual experiences which lead me to believe that a deity is watching over me. Is it possible if this deity is genderless and has only created me as its only creation forever and that I’m bonded to it eternally? I really want to.

    • Hello Faye! (Dver, I hope you don’t mind me jumping in here)

      My name is P. Sufenas Virius Lupus, but you can call me PSVL if you like! ;) I am a gender-diverse person (metagender, specifically), and also neurodivergent along multiple axes.

      I have some experience with gender-diverse Deities generally, and one specifically agender Deity in particular (Whose name is Panprosdexia). I also have pretty extensive experience with “new” Deities, or Deities that have been discovered/found by humans only recently.

      Humans do not have the monopoly on knowledge of all the possible Deities that there are, by any means. But, there are ways of determining if the Deity with Whom you are in contact is one that is known previously or not.

      If you think it would be useful to speak further than me on any of what you’ve said, perhaps in another forum or via e-mail, I’m absolutely open to that. Let me know if that is the case! My e-mail address is aediculaantinoi@hotmail.com .

      In any case, many blessings to you on your path in the future no matter what! :)

Leave a comment